Crazy Old Woman That Talks To God

When I walk Lola before bedtime, as I step out on the front porch, I always look up directly ahead in the sky. Usually in front of me is the north star shining bright. Ok, I think it’s the north star. I will admit that I’m directionally challenged. You know, one of those people that don’t know the north from the east or the west from the south. But since it shines so bright I say it’s the north star so go with it. Anyway, tonight as I walked out my first thought was that it was cloudy because the star wasn’t there. But then I was reminded that just because I couldn’t see it didn’t meant that it wasn’t there. Just like we may not be able to see God doesn’t mean He’s not there.

This morning when I walked Lola (yes, alot of my realizations come when I’m walking Lola), I noticed how much I was talking to her as we walked. Wondering what she was seeing that got her attention when I couldn’t see anything. Commenting on the cat that she ran out of the ditch. Telling her about the squirrel that waited until she got in the house yesterday morning before it decided to run out of the tree and across the front yard. I realized that my neighbors probably think I’m really crazy talking to my dog like I do. They are going to start saying there goes that crazy old woman that talks to her dog. It’s not like she’s going to answer me. They can’t tell me she doesn’t understand me because I know better. And in her own way she does talk to me. I got to thinking then why don’t I do that with God? Why wait until I’m alone or in a room or by myself somewhere? In my quest to have a closer walk with God, I need to walk and talk to God. I’m not saying be like talking to your best friend on your cell phone in a crowded restaurant and let everyone hear your business. Just, instead of thinking you have to be at a certain place and at a certain time before you pour your heart out to God, if there is something pressing on you that you desperately need to pray about, then stop and walk. And while walking, talk to God. Do it in your mind, or just move your lips, or come out and actually say the words like God was walking right there beside you. Because you know what – He is. Just because others may not be able to see Him doesn’t mean that He isn’t there.

One of these days I may hear someone refer to me as the crazy old woman that talks to God and that’s fine. I’ll just smile and keep right on talking to the Lord that is walking with me.

Hebrews 11:1
Now faith is the reality of what is hoped for, the proof of what is not seen.

Hebrews 11:6
Now without faith it is impossible to please God, for the one who draws near to Him must believe that He exists and rewards those who seek Him.

Acts 17:27
He did this so they might seek God, and perhaps they might reach out and find Him though He is not far from each of us.

God Bless

Please leave a comment below and any prayer concerns you might have. Would love to pray for and with you.

Leave a Reply

