TESTIMONY TUESDAY

As I sit to write this, I had intended to link my blog post God Bumps to #Testimony Tuesday. But something inside me nudged me and said no. If you go to look at my blogs, you’ll notice I have not posted in awhile. Even though I had not been blogging for very long, it was like I hit a wall and no words were forthcoming. Until today.

On the way to work this morning I had actually had a thought of doing a video testimony, which for me is surprising because I don’t like having pictures or videos of myself taken. The more I thought about it and what I would say, something stood out and after reading on Twitter about #TestimonyTuesday I realized I was meant to share this. But not in a video format. First on this blog that I have neglected and then wherever God wants me to.

Somewhere I think I have actually told this but today I want to share this story and actually connect it to giving a testimony. Sometimes I think we neglect to give our testimony because we may feel like the setting is not right or worried that others will judge us for the sins we’ve committed. What we have to remember is that even if it’s only one person who hears or even if you may never know how your testimony helped someone else, it is still important to share especially if God has laid it on your heart to do so. What has occurred to me today is that our testimony doesn’t have to be some big production and planned out. We don’t need to have a just right setting and we shouldn’t worry about others judging us.

After being diagnosed with breast cancer, I became better acquainted with the woman who lived across the street from me. I knew who she was before then but knew her daughter better since she was the same age as one of my sons. What I didn’t know until after my diagnosis was that she had been fighting breast cancer for a year and we were going to the same doctor. By the time I started chemo we had actually talked several times and were well on the way to becoming friends. When the time came for my third treatment we were able to actually be there on the same day and close to the same time. I had arrived first and was set up when she came in. She arrived carrying nothing but her purse while I sat there with what I called my survival kit. This usually consisted of a book, DVD player and movie, phone, and snacks. When she looked at all of my stuff she laughed and made a comment that has stuck with me. “I don’t bring anything with me to do because the way I look at it, if you can’t talk about what you are going through with others who are going through the same thing, then who can you talk to about it?” So yeah, the book was closed, the movie was never turned on, and I actually spent a day in the chemo room that made good memories. Memories I cherished a year later when she lost her fight with breast cancer.

Today thinking about this comment she made and how my testimony would go made me realize that we should think of our testimonies as just having conversations with people who are going through the same thing that we are. Whether it’s through volunteering, an informal gathering, church event, or friends you meet on the street, if you get the nudge that there is someone there that will benefit from your story, don’t let fear of being judged or fear of public speaking stop you. Just think of it as a conversation and there is probably someone there who is going through the same thing as you.

God Bless!

Visit http://hollybarrett.org/testimony-tuesday for some great testimonies!

 

Leave a Reply

