FAITH

Faith

 

Faith – belief and trust in a person or things. Believing in something or someone.

It’s easy to put our faith in things and people around us without even thinking about it. Sometimes we probably even take it for granted but then when things break or the person you put your faith in lets you down you are surprised. Sometimes even devastated.

When I sit in my chair I have faith that it’s not going to break. Even though with all the weight I’ve gained over the holidays it may not hold me up much longer.

When I tell my kids to do something, I have faith they will do it. Mainly because I’m their mamma and I said so.

When I get up in the mornings I have faith that my coffee pot will produce a cup of coffee. But since it’s over two years old, one of these mornings it may not.

When I plant a seed in the ground I have faith that it will grow into a big beautiful plant. Ok – for other people it will grow into a big beautiful plant.

Why then is it so hard to put our faith in God when we are surrounded by the evidence of His faithfulness every day? Oh we say we have faith, but do we really?

Hebrews 11:1 describes faith as the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. But we have evidence becauseĀ as you go on to read the chapter you see a Who’s Who list of people in the Bible who had great faith. If that chapter was rewritten today my name would not be there. I’d be more like Peter who, when Jesus called him out of the boat onto the water, he took his eyes off Jesus and panicked. He noticed the rough waters and started sinking. Arms flailing crying, “Save me save me!” Jesus reached out His hand and pulled him up and said, “You of little faith, why did you doubt?” (Matthew 24: 26 – 31)

Why do we doubt? We let the devil whisper in our ear that it’s not possible, we put our faith in people who let us down, and our faith in things that break when Jesus is there holding out His hand saying, “Have faith in Me.”

Faith. This is my word for 2016. I’m excited to dig into it and put it to use in my life. To really put my faith in Christ Jesus. To not only say I have faith in God but to actually live it. I’m scared at the same time because I am afraid of the unknown and I know the devil will use that against me. But part of livingĀ in faith is to have faith that God is with me every step of the way.

My Bible verse for 2016 is actually my go to verse. Philippians 4:6 – “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your request be made known to God.” But I’m going to add another one to it also. Ephesians 2:8 – “For by grace you have been saved through faith and that not of yourselves it is the gift of God.” I have a chalkboard on my wall where I write the memory verses for whatever current Bible study I’m in. On January 1, 2016 I will make another one where the word FAITH will be written along with these Bible verses. They will stay up all year long to remind me that God is who I need to put my absolute faith in.

You may decide not to do a word and/or Bible verse for the year because, like me, you are afraid of the unknown. What is it they say happens if you pray for patience? You are put in situations where you have to practice more patience. But if you let the devil use that against you, then you are denying God the opportunity to work in your life. Have faith.

Share your word and/or Bible verse for 2016. God Bless!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

