ARE YOU LISTENING LORD?

Do you ever wonder that?  You pray and pray and pray but things do not change. Or they don’t change quick enough. So you volunteer for one more Bible group to lead and sign up for one more Bible study. After all God has called you to serve so the more things you do for Him means He will finally answer your prayers right?

Wrong.

So maybe the question should be are you listening to the Lord?

Yes, we are to serve God. He has given each and every one of use unique abilities to use to glorify Him. But when you do nothing but serve and you do not spend time with Him ALONE, how can you grow in your faith? How can you hear His voice? How do you know you are going in the right direction? When you get too busy to seek God, then you aren’t doing what He wants you to do.

This is something that I am learning even though it’s not actually like I’ve been too busy serving. Several years ago I tried missionary work believing that was what God had called me to do. And while I was blessed by it, and hopefully those children I interacted with were blessed also, after two years I knew that it wasn’t my calling. So I’ve went for several years without actually serving in any capacity. Last year the opportunity arose for me to volunteer for an online Bible Study group and I’ve been blessed beyond measure. This group is amazing. My problem is I feel like I should be doing more, but the doors have not been opening up.

We are starting a study January 25th on Lysa Terkeurst’s book “Becoming More Than A Good Bible Study Girl.” And let me just say that this is really hitting home. Though I’ve not been TOO busy serving, there is the possibility that I’m pushing to serve more because I think I need to make up for the time when I wasn’t serving God. I’m wanting to please God so I am trying to be busy for Him to please Him.

Deuteronomy 4:29
But from there you will seek the Lord your God and you will find Him if you seek Him with all your heart and with all your soul.

That is what pleases God. Seeking Him. Coming before Him and giving Him your heart and soul. Resting in Him.

I actually asked myself some time back what does God need me to do. NEED. You ever get that little voice that speaks to you after you ask a ridiculous question? Yeah, me too. God doesn’t NEED us. He’s the master of the universe, creator of all things. He can do anything. He wants us to NEED Him. To WANT Him. While He wants us to serve Him, He wants us to spend time with Him.

Something else to think about.

If you actually serve God in some way that He didn’t call you to, then you’ve taken someone else’s place, and you’ve taken the blessing that they would have received because they were obedient to God.

Ouch!

And how are you going to know unless you spend time with God?

My prayer is that God only opens the doors that He wants me to go through. My goal is to never be so busy that I forget to spend time with God.

God Bless!

 

To sign up for Proverbs 31 Online Bible Study #BecomingMore, go here.

 

Leave a Reply

