The Funk

So The Funk. What is it?

No not funky music. Not something great. Not something hip hoppity.

The funk – for me – is blah.

Blah – you know. Just blah. No energy, not really into anything, not really excited about anything.

Some may call it depression, seasonal depression, winter blues. And while all of those are real and I have been affected by all three before, this isn’t it. It’s just the funk. I have no other word to call it – just a funky mood.

This morning I was reading Day 5 of Wendy Blight’s Five Day Devotional and it was on God’s name Immanuel (God With Us). One of the scriptures was Romans 8: 37 – 39. I decided to read it from The Voice and personalized it like this:

37) But no matter what comes, I will always taste victory through Him who loved me. 38) For I know every confidence that nothing – not death, life, heavenly messengers, dark spirits, the present, the future, spiritual powers, 39) height, depth, nor any created thing – can come between me and the love of God revealed in the Anointed Jesus our Lord.

Then this got me to thinking and got me to journaling and I realized that one thing that worries me is that when I get in this funk, does Jesus still love me? So this verse came at a great time to help reassure me that Jesus does love me. He saved me. He died for me. He is with me and I have to believe that nothing can separate me from Him.

And while I know that, I’m still in this funk.

I wish I knew why I get in a funk like this but I really have no clue. Is it the devil trying to keep me from doing what God wants? Or is it something simple like being human? Just one of those things. My body being what is it – older, dealt with serious illness like cancer years ago, fighting asthma. Which, I know that’s some of it. Or at least the energy part. And there’s nothing like waking up at night not being able to breath.

So I know some of it is physical. And the fact that I don’t eat right probably has some to do with it too. The time of the year probably plays a part in it as well. I may never know exactly why I have the funk. And it probably won’t be the last time as this isn’t the first time that I’ve been in a funky mood. But what’s making a difference this time is that I’m realizing how much I’m letting this mood affect my walk with God.

So, I don’t know that the devil is why I’m in a funk. But I do know I’m letting him use it to hinder my serving God. It happened shortly after being invited to be on the launch team for Wendy Blight’s new study “I Know His Name” and starting the companion five-day devotional series “Five Days to Knowing God More Intimately.” The first chapter and the devotional series is amazing. You can check it out at www.wendyblight.com.

Then of course our next P31OBS is beginning the study Monday on Lysa TerKeurst’s book “Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl”. While I’m excited about it, I’ve not been involved as I normally would have been. (If you’d like to sign up for #BecomingMore, go to http://proverbs31.org/online-bible-studies/current-study. You’ll love it!)

I’m excited about both of these ministries, I just haven’t participated like I had planned on. Too busy? Nope, not hardly. I haven’t been in a mood to really get involved. Just the funk.

Even when I should be digging deeper into God’s word, I want to pick up my crocheting and just veg out in front of the TV. Just the funk.

Nothing can come between me and God. This is what I need to keep telling myself and stop letting this funk try to take away my time with God.

I like The Voice’s interpretation of Philippians 4:13: “I can be content in any and every situation through the Anointed One who is my power and strength.”

I can rise above this funk because the Lord strengthens me. He is my power and strength.

Deuteronomy 4:29 is a verse I love to read in both the NKJV and The Voice.

NKJV
“But from there you will seek the Lord your God and you will find Him if you seek Him with all your heart.”

The Voice
“But when you’re there, you’ll look for the Eternal your God. If every part of you is invested in the search, heart and soul, then you’ll find Him.”

Every part of you invested. Seek Him with all your heart and soul.

When I’m in this funk I know He’s there, I’m grateful and thankful He’s there, but do I seek Him with all my heart and soul? No. Do I thank Him with every fiber of my being? No. Even if the funk is just one of those things, I’ve let the devil use it to keep me from God.

I know from past experience I’ll come out of it. What I need to do is stop letting the devil use it. Even in the funk I can seek God. In fact, that’s when I really need to seek God. He is my strength and my comfort. He is Adonai Sal’i – God our Rock – my Rock. He is my Rock, my fortress and my salvation.
(See, I really am excited about Wendy’s new book #IKnowHisName!)

 

My Rock

Leave a Reply

