Ramblings of a Middle Age Woman – My Dog Is Crazy

Do you love dogs?

I do. I have three. Two miniature chihuahuas and one boxer. All three are females. My male chihuahua I had to put to sleep last year before Christmas and that was the hardest thing I ever had to do.

The three chihuahuas were planned. Well, two I bought, then they made babies, and I ended up keeping one.

Lola, the boxer, is a different story.

She started out being my son’s dog because he found her eight years ago when she was a pup walking across the parking lot where he worked. Ads were run and people were contacted but no one claimed her, so he kept her. Since he’s had her, she probably has only lived away from my house a total of a year.  This last time, he moved somewhere he couldn’t have dogs so she came back to me. And hasn’t left nor is she going to. She’s my baby girl.

She loves car rides and being outside when I am.  Plus she made me get active. Seriously.  Because of her, I walk every day.

There are times she is just crazy though. Seriously crazy.

She won’t listen to me. She loves for some unknown reason to chase bees. BEES ya all. Living, flying, BIG, bees. Luckily she has not caught one. But I can’t get her to stop. No matter that I know that bee will hurt her if she catches it. She tries all the time. I know what’s best for her but she doesn’t care.

Reminds me of me. How many times has God put road blocks up to keep me from doing something and I did it anyway?  How many times have I been hurt because of it? Too many times to count. You would think I would learn my lesson but I do it over and over. So many times I’ve plunged head on into things without prayerfully considering it to see if that is what God wanted for me. God knows best for me but so many times I haven’t listened. 

I’m just as crazy as my dog.

Thankfully , my God is a loving Father that picks me up, dusts me off, and doesn’t give up on me. He doesn’t stop loving me nor taking care of me.

Just like I don’t stop loving Lola and taking care of her.

Psalm 121:2
My help comes from the Lord who made heaven and earth.

Good night and God bless

Leave a Reply

