Ramblings of a Middle Age Woman – Say Yes

If Jesus stood in front of you today and said “Come. Be my disciple.” What would you say?

I’m talking about now. Not during Jesus’ time, not right after you accepted Christ, not before you strayed from Him. Now. Right this moment. What would be your reaction? Would you say yes to Him without hesitation?

If I were honest, and I’ve decided I will be, if Jesus stood in front of me today, held out His hand and asked me to be one of His disciples, I’m afraid I would have all kinds of excuses.

I have accepted Him as my Lord and Savior. There is no question on that. But to go teach the lost and spread His word. To step out of my comfort zone and fully trust where He is leading is something I so struggle with.

There’s always excuses. The main being why would anyone listen to me? I’m a nobody.

What was Peter? A common everyday fisherman.

Matthew 4:18 – 20
While walking by the Sea of Galilee, He saw two brothers, Simon (who is called Peter) and Andrew his brother, casting a net into the sea, for they were fishermen. And He said to them, “Follow Me and I will make you fishers of men.” Immediately they left their nets and followed Him.

His name at the time Jesus called him out was not on everyone’s lips. I would even go so far to guess that because of his profession he was looked down on by many. Yet Jesus chose him to be one of His disciples.  Even after Peter denied Him, Jesus forgave Him and used him to help build His church.

Oh wait this is a good excuse. I’m divorced. Three times actually. We won’t get into all the things I’ve done that people would judge me on. People will look down on me and not listen because of my past. I’m ashamed and there’s no way Jesus can use someone like me.

Take a look at Matthew. He was a tax collector. Right off that tells you in those days that people hated him. He cheated, lied, and stole. Yet when Jesus called him to follow Him, he did so without hesitation. He didn’t question if God could use him. He didn’t give excuses why Jesus should choose someone else. He said yes.

Matthew 9:9
As Jesus passed on from there, He saw a man called Matthew sitting at the tax booth, and He said to him, “Follow Me.” And he rose and followed Him.

All of these men that Jesus called led lives that were not so different from you and I. They weren’t famous. They were common men. And at the end of Jesus’ life, they panicked and ran away. They left Him. But when Jesus arose, it was these men He came to. These men He spent time with before He ascended into heaven. These men He charged with telling the world about Him.

Acts 1:8
But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be My witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.

No matter your age. No matter where you are from. No matter your past. No matter your excuse, say YES to Jesus. Say yes to following Him and trust that He has a purpose and plan for your life.

Good night and God Bless

#ComeWithMe
#jointhemovement
#sayYEStoJesus

 

One thought on “Ramblings of a Middle Age Woman – Say Yes

  1. Cindy says:

    I’m ashamed to say I’m pretty sure I’d hang my head and say no thank you if Jesus asked me to be a disciple. I do love my comfort zone and being a disciple is about as far out of my zone as I could go. Yep, lots of excuses too. Thank you for reminding me that God can use me even with all my flaws, Cindy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

