Ramblings of a Middle Age Woman – Discouraged

What do you do when you get discouraged? Do you turn to people or things to make yourself feel better? Do you shut yourself off from the world and attempt to ignore everything and everyone around you? Do you go and do charitable works hoping that by doing something good you will feel better?

Or do you turn to Jesus?

Or is turning to Jesus your last response? The when all else fails response?

Isn’t it funny how we end up in situations or places where we think there is no hope and when we do finally turn our eyes to Jesus we find He has been right there all along offering hope?

Just to clarify – I’m not saying that turning to Jesus is going to make everything better. That He will make all the bad stuff go away and your life will be a bed of roses. We live in an evil world where bad things happen in fleshly bodies that break down and get sick. Turning to Jesus gives us the strength we need to get through this life and the peace and hope to know that our destination after this life is someplace wonderful. We are put in situations in this life where we can worry every second of every minute of every hour of every day of every week of every month of every year (whew!) – or we can learn from Paul who said:

11) Not that I am speaking in need for I have learned in whatever situation I am in to be content. 12) I know how to be brought low and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. 13) I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.
Philippians 4: 11 – 13

Be content no matter where you are or what you are facing.

Yeah, I’m not there yet, but I’m trying. In the past year I’ve been intentional in studying God’s word every day and learning to turn to Him first instead of last. Yes, I still mess up and find myself worrying when I shouldn’t be. Or longing for things I shouldn’t. But I’m learning to recognize that and stop it with words from God. God is my strength and it’s Him that gets me through each day.

I hope the following verses will help you as they’ve helped me when I get discouraged.

God Bless.

Matthew 19:26
But Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible but with God all things are possible.”

Philippians 4:13
I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Isaiah 40:29
He gives power to the faint and to him who has no might He increases strength.

Jeremiah 33:3
Call to Me and I will answer you and will tell you great and hidden things that you have not known.

Jeremiah 29: 12 – 13
12) Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me and I will hear you. 13) You will seek Me and find Me when you seek Me with all your heart.

Joshua 1:9
Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.

Philippians 4: 6 – 7
6) Do not be anxious about anything but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let you requests be made known to God. 7) And the peace of God which surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4_13

 

 

Leave a Reply

