Ramblings of a Middle Age Woman – #livefreeThursday

Every Thursday at tsuzanneeller.com she posts a topic and you can link your blog post on that topic. Today’s topic is It’s a Miracle and Suzie asks the question, “What miracle is God asking you to participate in?”

What if you don’t know what miracle? Does that mean there’s something wrong if you don’t know if He is using you to help someone? Should you be concerned if you don’t see a miracle happening to the people you interact with? Should you be reexamining your life, looking for hidden sin, talking to your pastor?

I don’t think so. (Unless you feel like there’s something wrong somewhere then by all means go talk to your pastor.)

Sometimes we have to remember that we may not see the result of what God has called us to do. Did you feel the need to pray for the mother and child you saw in the store?  You won’t see the result of your prayer, but God knows. Did you feel the urge to pay for the car behind you at the fast food place? You won’t know the result of that urging, but God does. Did you look at your closet one day and just all of a sudden feel the need to clean it out and donate all the clothes that you didn’t wear anymore or didn’t fit? You won’t know who those clothes went to help, but God knows. As do the people that were impacted by those actions.

Somewhere today a mother was sick trying to take care of a little child when someone showed up unexpectedly to help because they felt that need. Somewhere today, a mother was counting change trying to feed her children only to find someone before her had paid for their food. Somewhere today a homeless man was given a sweater to keep him warm. Those little things were big miracles to the people they blessed.

Not everyone has been called to actively go in the mission field. Some have been called to do nothing more than pray. Pray for the missionaries and the people they would be helping. Not everyone has been called to go preach. Some have been called to serve in the background at churches and make sure that the little things get done. Not everyone has been called to serve at a local food bank. Some have been called to make sure there is food and clothes available to give out to those in need.

I believe that everyone has a purpose for God. I just believe that you aren’t always going to see the results. Just like the hats I plan on crocheting and giving away to an organization. I won’t see the child and/or adults they go to but I pray that they will be given to someone who needs them. I pray that they will be blessed by my gift.

The cards I send out to people I’ve met on the internet through volunteering for P31OBS. These people impact my life greatly and I love being able to send encouragement out to them. But I don’t know if I will ever meet them face to face to actually see the result of that encouragement.

The people that I pray for on a weekly basis that comment on the study blog or the BSL events on Thursday evenings. I doubt that I will ever know the result of my praying for them. But it’s something I felt the urge to do. This is a mission that I feel the need to serve. So maybe in some way I helped someone. Maybe because of the urging I felt, someone experienced a miracle from God.

So if you feel that urging, that tug, that something deep inside of you that makes you know this is what God wants you to do, don’t ignore it. Don’t walk away from it. Say yes. You may never know the miracle that God blesses someone with but trust that He is going to make one happen.

God Bless

1 Corinthians 12: 4 – 6
4) Now there are varieties of gifts but the same Spirit; 5) and there are varieties of service, but the same Lord; 6) and there are varieties of activities, but it is the same God who empowers them all in everyone.

“He turned on the radio to hear a song for the last time
He didn’t know what he was looking for even what he’d find
And the song he heard it gave him hope and strength to carry on
And on that night, they found a miracle
They found a miracle.”
Third Day
I Need A Miracle

Saying Yes

 

One thought on “Ramblings of a Middle Age Woman – #livefreeThursday

  1. Cindy says:

    We never know how God will use our prayers, words, or actions do we? It’s amazing that I can be a part of His miracles! Thanks for the reminder, Cindy

    Like

Leave a Reply

