Ramblings of a Middle Age Woman -Loving Jesus

Do you remember when you first accepted Christ as your Lord and Savior?  Do you remember how much joy and love filled you? Do you still have that much joy and love in your life for Christ?

There have been plenty of times in my life where I would have to answer no to that question. Actually, the majority of times in my life. But there have been moments where I have remembered that feeling; have felt that joy and love for Christ just like the day I was saved. Unfortunately those moments are few and far between. I have no excuse as to why except I just let life get in the way. Instead of turning to God, I turned to people and things which took away my joy in Christ. The more I went down my own path, the more joy, happiness, and peace of mind I lost. Until I wound up in ho hum whatcha going to do land wondering how I ended up there – AGAIN.

Like this past week I got in a funk. Don’t know why. Don’t know what caused it. Can’t blame it on the devil even. Just ended up there. Instead of IMMEDIATELY turning to God, for a couple of days I let it drag me down and I turned to other things. Computer, games, television (my BIG go to thing here lately), and people. Not like I’ve done in the past. But still I looked. I wondered. I started playing an online game again. Did it ease the funk? Did seeking people’s approval ease the funk? Did I find happiness staring at me from a television screen? NO!

the devil says

This time it didn’t take me long to remember that people and things are not going to be where I find my joy. Living in a television set or in an online game is not going to bring me happiness. Jesus is the ONLY person that can bring me the peace and joy I so desire.

Blessed

Romans 15:13
May the God of hope full you with all joy and peace in believing so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

The devil will make us doubt our faith and he will try to steal our joy in the Lord. He doesn’t want us to remember how we felt when we first accepted Christ. He wants us to stay in funky moods where we look to people and things to feel better. But this time I refuse. I am looking to Jesus to fill my heart with joy and love. I am falling in love with Jesus all over again.

Philippians 4:4
Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say rejoice!

God Bless

#livefreeThursday

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Ramblings of a Middle Age Woman -Loving Jesus

Leave a Reply

